Source: Jason Goodman
This resource guide is designed to give you the resources you need to complete your Shark Tank assignment. Read through the resources below to learn more about good product design, and the tabs above to help you with each part of your assignment.
When designing products, always remember that you are designing for people. This article takes a closer look at how to define an optimal product vision, strategy, and design process.
This article discusses the Double Diamond method for designing products, breaking down all the steps to creating a user-centred product.
New product design is a lot like art. Creativity and vision come together to produce something new, attractive, and bold. But product designers have a different set of challenges than the artist. Product designers have to create with the users in mind. Their creations need to be useful. They need to be accepted into the homes of consumers where, instead of being mounted on the wall, they go on the bathroom sink or in the kitchen cupboard. Product design is challenging. Most people aren’t product designers, but it’s their needs the designer has to consider. This is no small task since people often don’t even know what their needs are! While the designer and the artist have different tasks, product design is still somewhat an art, requiring skill, practice, and intuition. This article presents 10 product design tips that are helpful when considering what makes a good design.
What does "good" design look like and are there any instructions on how to create it? Dieter Rams, legendary industrial designer, who's "less but better" approach inspired a generation of products, is famed for writing the Ten Principles of Good design. This article lists those principles and provides interactive looks at these principles in action.
This article gives useful tips on how to come up with a useful and profitable product idea.
This is a list of databases that will assist you in your research. Any databases highlighted in RED are only available to members of the State Library of Victoria. You can become a member for free by clicking HERE.
Read full-text articles on business, finance and the economy from thousands of publications.
Search Australian patents from 1904 onwards, most with full text and diagrams.
The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) is the independent statutory agency of the Australian Government responsible for statistical collection and analysis, and for giving evidence-based advice to federal, state and territory governments. The ABS collects and analyses statistics on economic, population, environmental and social issues, which you can search on their website. This is good for conducting market research for your product.
Australia’s Science Channel is Australia’s first free and open publishing platform for science stories. On Australia’s Science Channel you’ll find compelling videos, articles, podcasts, news and events from our publishing partners and Australia’s Science Channel’s contributing editors. It is a great database for seeing innovative technology and finding societal issues that need to be addressed.
A searchable database of main news and items relevant to important issues of the moment. The items are drawn from authoritative news sources in print and online or a combination of both. The database draws mainly from cost-free sources, avoiding paywalls whenever possible. Also whenever possible, a news item will be grouped with analysis, comment and background to that item.
Find patent applications within the worldwide patent database, containing over 90 million documents from the 19th century to the current day.
Case studies, company information and news on Australia and New Zealand's leading businesses and organisations.
Search more than 87 million patents and patent applications with full text from 17 patent offices. Drawings and information from all United States patents from 1790 onwards.
Search an extensive collection of archived information on Australian businesses.
Search across a collection of company profiles analyzing the 2000 largest Australian and New Zealand companies. Each report features key personnel, financials and other relevant data including an analysis of the competitive environment. Note that the State Library subscription covers Australian and New Zealand company profiles only.
Explore a huge collection of research reports on Australian industries, including key statistics, current market analysis, major industry players, current and historical performance, and a five-year forecast.
Find vital industry statistics and analysis for small-to-medium (SME) enterprises generating $10 million or less. Note that the State Library subscription covers Australian reports only.
Discover a growing collection of research reports on niche and emerging Australian industries, including key statistics, current market analysis, major industry players, current and historical performance, and a five-year forecast.
Search labour market statistics from the International Labour Organization (ILO).
Gain insight into local and international business ideas with a focus on Australasian content. Coverage: 1993-onwards (full text).
Compare statistics from a huge central data source including CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, World Resources Institute, UNESCO, UNICEF and OECD.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.
Research international and regional business, finance and economics with predominantly Asian and European coverage. Includes ABI/INFORM and The Australian Financial Review (September 2013— ).
